Food

Yummy Pumpkin

Fall=Pumpkin Desserts (in my mind).  I went to the grocery store in search of canned pumpkin to make my favorite pumpkin-chocolate chip bundt cake.  I didn’t see a single can of pumpkin nor chocolate chips!  It turns out they don’t sell the canned pumpkin in the grocery stores in Dusseldorf and very few stores carry small bags of chocolate chips.  When I say small, I mean small.  The bag I was able to locate contained maybe half a cup of chocolate chunks (no chips) in it.  I am used to purchasing the Costco sized 72oz bag of chocolate chips to take care of all my pumpkin and Christmas related baking.  Thanks to a super easy recipe from The Pioneer Woman on how to make pumpkin puree, I decided to buy a pumpkin to be able to make the cake!

DSC_0085

Ingredients: Flour, Sugar, Baking Powder, Baking Soda, Salt, Cinnamon, Oil, Eggs, Pumpkin Puree (canned or fresh), Chocolate Chips

 

 

For how to make the pumpkin puree, go here: Homemade Pumpkin Puree.

DSC_0086DSC_0087DSC_0088DSC_0093DSC_0094DSC_0096

 

 

On to the Cake!

DSC_0089Add 2 Cups of Flour

DSC_00902 Cups of Sugar

DSC_00911/2 tsp Salt

DSC_00921/2 tsp Cinnamon

DSC_00982 Cups of Pumpkin

DSC_00992 tsp of Baking Powder & 2 tsp of Baking Soda

DSC_0100Add 4 Eggs & 1 Cup of Oil

DSC_0103Stir in 1 Cup of Chocolate Chips

DSC_0104Pour into greased & floured bundt pan

DSC_0106Bake at 350 degrees for 55-60 minutes.

Cool & remove from pan.  Dust with confectioners sugar.  I can’t show this step, as my bundt pan wasn’t well greased, so half of it stuck to the pan.

PS.  I tried to use all parts of the pumpkin.  I roasted the pumpkin seeds with cinnamon and sugar, but I am having temperature conversion problems and they burned!  I also used the leftover pumpkin to make pumpkin butter and it was pretty good tasting.

2 thoughts on “Yummy Pumpkin

Leave a Reply

