Life

Sewing

I read so many DIY blogs where they are sewing everything from dinner napkins to dresses.  They make it look so easy: cut some fabric & run it through the machine.  I decided to give it a try. 

DSC00806 

Christian’s mom gave me her sewing machine.  Then I purchased the “Sew Everything Workshop” book, which is a really good beginners guide for sewing.  The author explains all the parts of the sewing machine, what you need to get started and provides patterns.

DSC00807

My first project was a pin-cushion, which turned out okay. 

DSC00810

My second project was to turn an old dress shirt of Christian’s into a pillow cover.  It didn’t turn out quite square and the corners are a bit off.  I still need to work on sewing in a straight line.

DSC00811 

I think this is a good start.  I’ll keep trying different projects and hopefully, I will improve! 

Leave a Reply

