Food

Boxed Cake Mix

I am always craving a sweet and I was hording baking supplies from the US: boxed cake mix, marshmallows, chocolate chips, sprinkles, etc.  I decided it was time to use some of it, so I made a chocolate cake from the box but changed it up a bit. 

DSC00870 DSC00872

Prepare the cake mix according to package.  I decided to bake it in three rounds.

DSC00874

While the cake was in the oven, I made a cream cheese frosting.

DSC00875 DSC00876

Once the rounds were cooled, I added the filling.  The first layer was nutella & the second layer was raspberry jam.  I thought I used enough jam but in the end I should have used even more, like an entire jar!

DSC00877 DSC00878

Place the second round on top and then add the filling again: nutella & raspberry jam.  Then frost the cake with the cream cheese frosting. 

DSC00895 DSC00896

The cake was so good & you can really taste the nutella.  Like I said, I should have added even more jam to get more of a fruity taste, but it was yummy nevertheless!

One thought on “Boxed Cake Mix

  1. that looks and sounds terrible! I like yellow cake with very little frosting but an extra stick of butter added to the mix!

Leave a Reply

