Travel

Last Day in Hong Kong

This is my last post about our trip to China.  As I was preparing all my posts, I was surprised by how much we did get to see in such a short time.  This was a trip of firsts…first to Asia and my longest plane ride at 11 hours.  I was lucky to be able to sleep most of the trip both to and from and we weren’t too affected by jet lag.  I have to share that on our way back to Germany on the plane, I was half asleep and heard the rustling of newspapers.  I thought it was odd that Christian would be reading the newspaper so late and not sleeping.  I opened my eyes to find Christian using the newspapers as a way to keep warm!  He had given me his blanket earlier as I was cold, so I had two blankets over me.  It turned out that the plane was very, very cold as even Christian needed a blanket.  I gave him back his blanket and we were both able to sleep again.  Now back to our last day in Hong Kong…

We spent our last afternoon on Hong Kong Island.  It was a very hot day and they had heat warnings.  We took the Peak Tram up to Victoria Peak.  The Peak Tram is a cable railway.  This is a huge tourist attraction, as you get spectacular views of the city and harbor.  The ride was so steep that I didn’t like looking out the window as we were riding up and down on the tram! 

DSC01586 DSC01588 DSC01596 DSC01589 DSC01594 DSC01595 

As we were walking through one of the big malls trying to cool down, we found a tea store called TWG (The Wellness Group).  They served afternoon tea and it was a really neat looking tea shop & restaurant.  They even had a tea flavor called The White House.  So before heading to the airport, we decided to have afternoon tea there.  We received sandwiches, scones & macaroons.  Everything was delicious and the macaroons even had tea flavors incorporated into them. 

DSC01600 DSC01601 DSC01602 DSC01603 DSC01608 DSC01609 

Hope you enjoyed reading & seeing pictures from our trip.  I’m looking forward to exploring more parts of the world!

Leave a Reply

