Life

One Year

The end of September marked Christian & I’s one year anniversary of living in Germany.  The end of October marks one year of blogging.    Looking back on our year, we traveled a ton and we still have so much more to see across the globe!  I can’t wait.  I’ve learned a little bit of German, enough to go to the grocery store, bakery, post office & run other errands.  I especially have mastered the fitness Deutsch vocabulary, thanks to all the classes at the gym I take!  I have realized that Christian is definitely the cook in our family & I should just stick to baking.  I prefer biking over driving.  I think it is too expensive to buy clothes in Europe, so I still buy all my clothes & shoes in the US.  Germans love ice cream & cake as much as I do.  The cities in Germany are so much more clean than other countries.  We have survived a year without a clothes dryer, microwave & toaster and decided the only thing that we might miss is the clothes dryer.  There is probably so much more that I have learned & experienced in our year in Germany, but those will have to do!

Here is a little recap of our year with a picture or two from each month.

End of September: Move to Dusseldorf.  October: Sea container with our personal belongings arrive.

image

November: First of many trips to The Netherlands: Delft, Den Haag, Amsterdam.

image

December:  Snow in Dusseldorf & Christmas in Virginia.

image image

January: Skiing in Seiser Alm.

image

February: Trip to Belgium.

image

March: My birthday weekend hiking in the Eifel.  Easter.

image image

April: Trip to Keukenhof, the huge flower garden in the Netherlands known for their tulips.

 image

May: Christian’s birthday & trip to Paris.

image

May: Shanghai, Guangzhou & Hong Kong.

image

June: Family coming to visit & traveling to London, Paris & the Netherlands, as well as Germany.

image

July: Our Wedding.

image

August: Camping weekends & trip to Venice.

image image

September: Safari in Tanzania & beach time in Zanzibar.

image

We are looking forward to another year of sharing our travels & other adventures in Germany!

Leave a Reply

