Food

Chocolate Chip, Pistachio, Pretzel, Sea Salt Cookies

I know that is a lot of stuff in one cookie.  Once again I started with a open bag of pistachios that I wanted to get rid of (that’s how most of my baking starts) & then searched for cookie recipes on the Internet.  I found a recipe by Joy The Baker called Dark Chocolate, Pistachio & Smoked Sea Salt Cookies.  The recipe can be found here.  I didn’t have any dark chocolate so I used milk chocolate & I had some pretzels that I thought I would add as well.  I also didn’t have smoked sea salt but just regular sea salt.  Those are the only changes I made to the recipe. 

Ingredients: flour, sugar, brown sugar, egg, butter, pistachios, chocolate chips, pretzels, vanilla extract, salt & baking soda.

image

Cream together 1/2 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 1/2 cup unsalted butter, 1 egg & 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract.

 image 

In separate bowl, mix together 1 1/4 cups of flour, 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda and 1/4 teaspoon of salt.

image 

Add to the creamed mixture.

image 

Here is where things varied from the original recipe.  I added 3/4 cup of chopped pretzels, 3/4 cup of chopped pistachios & 1 1/2 cups of milk chocolate chips.

image 

Mix it all together.  Yum…it tasted good even without baking it yet.

image 

Scoop the cookie dough onto the cookie sheet & sprinkle with sea salt.  I used a special pink sea salt that Christian & I received as a gift from a friend in Denver.

image image 

Bake for about 15-20 minutes at 350.  They came out a little more crunchy than chewy but I still enjoyed them, especially with the salt & chocolate combination.

image

Leave a Reply

