Food

Butternut Squash

image

Butternut squash is one of those vegetables that I have never used in my cooking.  I found this recipe for Butternut Squash Mac & Cheese on the Two Peas & Their Pod blog.  Christian normally doesn’t care for macaroni & cheese.  I think the versions he tried were somewhat bland and boring to him & I am sure I made one of those versions.  I showed him this recipe & he agreed to try it regardless of his preference for mac & cheese. 

I watched a YouTube video on how to peel & slice up a butternut squash, as I didn’t know how.  You only need half of a squash for this recipe & you roast it in the oven until tender.

image image

While the butternut squash was in the oven, Christian cooked the noodles & I shredded up some cheddar cheese.

image image

Christian made the white sauce with butter, flour, milk & nutmeg.

image image

We missed out on taking a few pictures of the butternut squash coming out of the oven & where we then put it in a blender with some milk to puree it.  The pureed butternut squash was added to the white sauce. 

image 

We added some fresh rosemary & the noodles.

image image 

Assembly time!  Pour half of the noodle mixture in a casserole dish then cover with cheese & repeat. 

image image 

On the top layer add some breadcrumbs or panko, which is what we used. 

image

I am definitely going to make this mac and cheese again.  It was so creamy & delicious and very filling.  Christian enjoyed it as well, so it couldn’t have been too boring!

Leave a Reply

