Food

Apple Chocolate Chip Muffins

I bought a large bag of apples to put on my salads.  One apple was plenty for my daily lunch salad, so I couldn’t get through those apples fast enough.  What did I do?  Searched the Internet of course to find a sweet & chocolately dessert to make with the apples.  It was actually harder to find than you would think.  Most people don’t bake with a combination of chocolate & apples.  I found the recipe here but ended up slightly modifying it.

Ingredients:

2 cups all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 3/4 cups chopped apples + 1 1/4 tsp vanilla extract + 3/4 cup Applesauce (my modification)
1 cup chocolate chips

Directions: Preheat oven to 375F.

Cream together butter, sugar and eggs.

image

Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Add to creamed mixture.

image image

Peel & dice 4-5 apples. 

image image

Here’s where I made a change to the recipe.  Originally, the recipe called for diced apples & vanilla.  I added the vanilla & then I started to add the diced apples to the mixture but it was way too thick.  I needed a little bit more moisture as it was turning into cookie dough & not batter for muffins.  I then added around 1 3/4 cup of applesauce. 

image

Add the diced apples.

image

Add in the chocolate chips.  A little status on the 4.5lb bag of chocolate chips: half empty!  This bag was brought to Germany in the beginning of March…not good.

image image

Spoon the batter into the muffin tin & bake for 30-35 minutes.  I had some football (American) cupcake liners in my pantry that were never going to be used for a Super Bowl party here in Germany, so I decided to use them for this recipe!

image image

The little modification to the recipe worked!  Christian loves a little fruit in his desserts, so this ended up satisfying both of us. 

image

Leave a Reply

