Life

Ruffle Apron

You might remember that for Mother’s Day I made my mom a ruffle apron.  I read a few tutorials online, watched a few YouTube videos and practiced by sewing a mini-apron out of scraps of an old dress of mine.  I think it fits the penguin quite nicely! 

image

After the success of the mini-scrap apron, I was ready to sew the real thing!  I used a tutorial from One More Moore (here) as my main source of guidance.  The first step was to cut out the fabric.  I am sure there are fancier and more accurate cutting tools but I used tailor’s chalk, measuring tape and the rotary cutter.

image image

Here’s all my cut pieces (four ruffle pieces, a back piece, the waist band & two ties).  I picked up this pretty (overpriced) fabric from one of the department stores here, Karstadt.  I have since discovered the German version of Etsy, which is Dawanda where you can order fabric for better prices from sellers throughout Germany. 

image

Second step, hem all the edges.  I ironed 1/4in hem around all four sides of the back piece, as well as three of the sides of the ruffles.  Leaving one long side of the ruffle pieces un-hemmed.

image image

Sew up all the hems.

image

Fourth step, make the ruffle.  If you don’t know how to make a ruffle, this is where you can watch a YouTube video on how to do it.

image

Line up all the ruffle pieces on the apron backing.  I placed the top ruffle & bottom ruffle 1 1/2in from the top & bottom of the apron back edge.  I then just evenly spaced the middle two ruffles until they looked good.

image image

Sew on the ruffles.

image image

Final steps were creating the ties.  Take the waist band & fold over edges 1/4 inch.  Don’t sew the hems yet.

image

Hem the ties & I made the end of my ties angled instead of just square. 

image image

This is where the sewing machine got tired and started making a squeaky noise (hint: time to clean & oil).  I had to take out one of the stitches & re-sew one of the ties.

image

Pin the waist band & ties onto the main apron & sew.

image image

Complete!  Front & back views.

image image

I then decided to model it…in workout clothes (my usual uniform).

image image

I also made this apron for a friend’s birthday.

image

Now my ruffle apron sewing shop is open for business.  Who wants one?!

Leave a Reply

