Food · Life

Slow Weekend

It was a slow and quiet weekend for me.  Christian is in Australia for work.  He had a more exciting weekend of watching the whales in Perth.  I was so jealous!  He also sent me an interesting video of what life is like on a mine-site, specifically one of the ones he visits when in Australia.  So when he isn’t watching the whales, he is spending his time at the mine-site.

Meanwhile, back in Düsseldorf…my life (weekdays & weekends) is pretty much on repeat when Christian is out of town: school, homework, gym, again & again.  We had warm weather this weekend (low 70’s) & sunny, which is really good for this time of year.  Fall normally is just rainy!

I ventured out on my own in the car (very rare occurrence) to go grocery shopping & go to IKEA.  I was at IKEA a few minutes before the store opened & there was a line of people waiting to get in!  I couldn’t believe it.  I was in search of plastic containers but decided to buy them at the Baumarkt instead.  Also, I purchased gas for the car for the very first time in Germany…hooray…wasn’t hard or scary…just like in the US!

I started packing up some of our glassware & dishes that we don’t use and anything we had the original boxes for.  I am glad that I saved every piece of packing paper that came in a box or tissue paper that we received when clothes shopping.

image image

I take granola bars for a snack during our break at school.  I decided to make my own Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Granola Bars from the recipe I found here over the weekend.  I think they are healthier than the store-bought bars, as the only added sugar is in the peanut butter and the chocolate chips.

The recipe calls for: 1C Prunes, 1C Dates, 1/4C Warm Water, 1/2C Peanut Butter, 2C Oats & 3/4C Chocolate Chips.

image

You just throw everything into the food processor: prunes & dates.

image

Then add the water & peanut butter.

image

Then the oats.  To mix up the ingredients, I was using the food processor attachment from our immersion blender.  It isn’t really that powerful & when I added the oats it was too much for it to handle & it started smoking!  I immediately unplugged it and it took a long time for it to cool down.  I was so sad that I possibly broke our immersion blender because we are in soup season and we love to use that for soup making!  Don’t worry though…I used the blender that evening & it seemed to work okay again.

image

Lastly, add the chocolate chips & spread out on a baking sheet.  Bake for 25 minutes at 325.

image image

Cut them into bars & then you can store them in a plastic container.

image

I ate two bars after baking them.  They taste healthy & are filling.  I was a little disappointed that they didn’t have a strong peanut butter taste.  If you want a stronger peanut butter taste, maybe use peanut butter chips.

Well, that was the weekend recap.  Hopefully, you all were up to more exciting things over the weekend!

One thought on “Slow Weekend

Leave a Reply

