Food

Pumpkin Dishes

I went a little crazy in the month of October trying out different ways to use pumpkin in baking and cooking.  Christian is now sick of pumpkin and would prefer it if I didn’t use it again until next year.  I found all the recipes through Pinterest and some turned out better than others.

One Pot Creamy Pumpkin Pasta: I made this while Christian was out of town.  I ended up eating it over four days.  At first it was more like pumpkin soup with noodles but then the sauce started to thicken and I enjoyed it more. (pic source)

One Pot Creamy Pumpkin Pasta - Luxuriously creamy pumpkin pasta in 20 minutes! It's possible with this super-simple vegetarian one-pot pasta recipe.

Healthy Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies:  These were delicious.  They had just a hint of pumpkin with lots of oats, cranberries & chocolate chips.  It was a good combination!  Christian took these cookies with him to work last week.

image

– Pumpkin Bread:  This is a recipe I altered from this Greek Yogurt Applesauce Bread.  Instead of using applesauce and apples, I just added pumpkin.  It was very moist.  Christian didn’t enjoy the bread, as he wished it had chocolate chips in it.  I wished it did as well but I was trying to be healthier!  Christian said, “you make a really good banana bread, why don’t you make that?”  My response was that I found a good pumpkin-banana bread recipe.  The look he gave me said: stop with the pumpkin!

image

– Pumpkin Granola Bars:  I made another batch of granola bars to take to school based on the Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Granola Bars.  Instead of putting in peanut butter, I added pumpkin.  I definitely miss the peanut butter.

image

Easy Pumpkin Hummus:  I didn’t follow the directions exactly with the recipe.  I didn’t have enough pumpkin, so I used probably just 1 cup of pumpkin and 1 cup of chickpeas.  Then I might have gone a little overboard with the lemon juice.  Christian had one taste and that was enough for him.  I enjoyed it for a couple days as a snack with our favorite crackers, Wasa Delicate This Crackers with Sea Salt.  You might be able to find these light, crispy crackers in the US, as I have seen the Wasa brand in grocery stores.

image

Pumpkin Sage Sausage Baked Gnocchi:  Our final pumpkin dish that we made Saturday night for dinner.  It might be better to call it Baked Gnocchi with Pumpkin, as we left out the sage & the sausage.  The recipe called for mixing pumpkin puree, spaghetti sauce & goat cheese.  Then you coat the gnocchi in the sauce and top with more goat cheese and shredded cheese.  This was a delicious but extremely filling dish.  This is the one pumpkin dish Christian enjoyed.

image image

So will I be making any more pumpkin dishes in the future?  Probably, as I still have a pumpkin sitting in our kitchen!

image

Leave a Reply

