Life

Happy New Year – 2016!

I know it is already the middle of January 2016 but I am just getting back to blogging.  I arrived in Virginia back at the beginning of December and I haven’t left yet!  I will give you a quick recap of our holidays…

As I have done in the past, I always arrive a week or so before Christian to help decorate and prepare for Christmas with my mom.

DSC02185 DSC02190

Then Christian and his mom arrived not in VA but in New York City.  I took the bus up to meet them and we spent a weekend exploring the city, which was all decked out for the holidays.  I want to dedicate more time to everything that we saw and did in another post.

DSC02208

Christian, his mom & I took the train from NYC to VA just a couple days before Christmas. My brother flew in from Denver.  We had a wonderful Christmas Eve and Day.  We moved slowly and just enjoyed the time.  Christian’s mom played Christmas carols on the piano & we had a nice dinner together.

DSC02377 DSC02367 DSC02365

After church on Christmas Eve, we like to drive around looking at Christmas lights.  We found this house & it was amazing!  We rolled down our windows because they had Christmas music playing from speakers in their yard.

DSC02371 DSC02372

On Christmas Day, we opened up lots of fun gifts!

DSC02428 DSC02441 DSC02449

We always make chocolate chip pancakes for brunch.

DSC02431 DSC02435

The week following Christmas was slow and relaxing.  We played lots of board games, we all went to the gym & we made a few outings to DC.  We visited the Botanic Gardens, which are located near the Capitol.

DSC02468 DSC02487

We also visited the Gaylord hotel in National Harbor.  They have the hotel beautifully decorated and a music & light show.

DSC02491

On New Years Eve, we played board games and toasted at 6PM when it would have been midnight in Germany.  Chris might have been the only one who stayed up until midnight!

DSC02502 DSC02503 DSC02504

Then it was time for Christian and his mom to fly back to Germany and my brother to fly back to Denver.  I decided to extend my visit in the US and will fly to Denver in February to spend time with my brother and visit with friends.  In the meantime, whenever it is just my mom and I, we go to the gym, go to the mall and eat at Wegman’s & Panera.  I have also been helping with another painting project in her house and I am getting to catch up with some friends that I didn’t get to visit with during the busy holiday season!

Hope everyone is off to a great start of 2016!

 

Leave a Reply

