Life · Travel

It’s 2017!

It is actually already February 2017!  I spent over a month in Denver, from mid-December to mid-January.  I had plans to blog while I was in Denver.  I brought my laptop which has my photo editing & blogging software on it.  I was packing up the computer and I couldn’t find the US plug for the computer but thought, oh my brother has one I can use.  Nope, Lenovo & Dell use two different connectors for the power pack.  The laptop was dead pretty much when I arrived!  No blogging for me! 

Here is a little recap of the last two months:

My mom & I arrived in Denver on the same day, so we met in the airport & traveled together to my brother’s place.  I always order a bunch of things online before arriving in the US, especially to take advantage of the holiday sales.  I don’t think my brother enjoyed being my package collector & we had a few problems with stolen packages, which was sad.  Christian arrived just a couple days before Christmas. 

We visited the Denver Botanic Gardens, which has a special program called Blossoms of Light that runs every year from the end of November to the 1st of January.  They had the grounds all decked out in lights.  It was very pretty but crowded!

image image image

On Christmas Eve, our family attended A Christmas Carol at the Stage Theater in the Denver Center for the Performing Arts complex.  It was a really great, well done show & if we still lived in Denver, I would try to make it an annual tradition.

image

Christmas Day was spent opening presents.  As with our tradition, my mom & I went to Home Depot and picked out a tree a couple days after arriving in Denver.  It wasn’t as large as I would have liked but we were working with a smaller space this year! 

image image image image image

We enjoyed catching up with friends in Denver, visiting some of our favorite places to eat & shop and strolling (or sometimes hiking) through downtown.

image image image image image

A few days after New Years, my mom headed back to Virginia and Christian & I traveled to Houston to visit my dad’s side of the family (grandma, aunt, uncle & cousins).  We thought we would be escaping the cold of Denver but it was just as cold in Houston as it was in Denver.  We enjoyed catching up with family & the time went by too quickly! 

image

Christian flew back to Germany after our trip to Houston because he had to get back to work!  I stayed in Denver a bit longer.  I worked on a few house projects for my brother, such as helping find a small dining table to be able to play more games & occasionally eat at!  Christian installed a ceiling fan in my brother’s bedroom & I installed a ceiling fan in his living room.  I hope the one I put up doesn’t fall down! 

image image image

I joined my brother & his girlfriend in gym classes.  It snowed!  We played lots of games.  

image image image

My brother took us to a game board café called Game Board Republic.  You pay $5 to play any of the 100’s of games to choose from.  They also serve food & drinks.  We tend to play the same games over and over again, so it was fun to try out some new games to see if we really liked them.  I really enjoyed the atmosphere of everyone else playing board games.  If you like to play board games, go there!

image image

Sadly, it was soon time for me to head back to Germany!  I always have a great time in Denver, especially now that my brother lives there, I am sure to be back for a visit again.  

2 thoughts on “It’s 2017!

  1. Very nice story of your vacation. On Fri, 3 Feb 2017 at 4:49 PM Life, Love and Pink wrote:

    > jenlynnjackson posted: “It is actually already February 2017! I spent > over a month in Denver, from mid-December to mid-January. I had plans to > blog while I was in Denver. I brought my laptop which has my photo editing > & blogging software on it. I was ” >

Leave a Reply

